Ionia Athletic Hall of Fame


Hall of Fame Classes


The Ionia High School Athletic Hall of Fame was created to:

  • Celebrate the history of Ionia High School
  • Honor former IHS athletes and teams
  • Establish and maintain connections with alumni
  • Accentuate the positive
  • Promote the value of extracurricular athletics
  • Assist in preservation of IHS sports records
  • Distinguish old and contemporary IHS athletes and teams
  • Showcase athletics as a vital part of the education process


Inductees will be honored at halftime of the varsity football game during community awareness week, as well as, at the annual induction ceremony held at Steele Street Hall.  Each inductee will receive a plaque and a permanent plaque will be displayed in the IHS Sports Commons.


To nominate an individual or team, please read the by-laws and procedures here. Nominations of individuals and teams must be made by completing the official nomination forms and submitted by May 1 of each year. All selections will be made by June 1 of each year. Inductees will be formally included in the Hall of Fame through a ceremony and plaque.

Individual Nomination Form

Team Nomination Form

Please direct questions to current committee members listed below.


Current Committee

Scott Swinehart President 616.527.0600
Chris Young Vice President  616-545-2110
Gary Swinehart Secretary  616-813-3240
Jim Batista Treasurer 616.527.0600
Jim Van Syckle  Member  616-902-6771
John Dinehart  Member  616-813-8972
Bob Sykes  Member  616-902-1252
Jim Klein  Member  616-902-0982
Kay Breining  Member
Linda Ciangi Member 616-527-4945
Andy Barr  Athletic Director  616-841-4004


The Ionia High School Athletic Hall of Fame is supported by the fundraisers, private donors, and corporate sponsors.

Make a Donation

If you wish to make a tax deductible donation, please click here for a form that you can either print or email to the address on the form.